Rock to Road

Features Appointments Event Reports Roads & Paving
OAPC elects John MacKay as Chair

February 12, 2021  By Jay Koblun

John MacKay is the OAPC Chair for 2021. Submitted photo

The Ontario Asphalt Pavement Council (OAPC) elected John MacKay as council chair during OAPC’s 5th annual general meeting. The announcement was made during the Ontario Road Builders’ Association virtual summit on Jan. 28.

MacKay, general manager, GTA Construction and Materials Engineering Aecon Infrastructure at Aecon, is replacing Ivan Levac, who served as OAPC chair from Feb. 4, 2020, to Jan. 28, 2021.

“I am very much looking forward to fulfilling my role as chair of OAPC as well as working with the newly appointed Council Directors in 2021,” MacKay says. “It is an honour to be chosen to represent a group of people, directors and staff, that really do exemplify a sense of community, drive and willingness to improve our industry. It is through the strength of exemplary work of the Council, and the Association we will build upon our success and will continue to face challenges that lie ahead, just as we worked together to overcome the unprecedent challenges of this past year.”

OAPC’s new chair lives in Lindsay, Ont., with his family. He started in the construction industry when he was 17 years old at KJ Beamish Construction in Lindsay. He joined the Aecon Group in 1996 where he held numerous positions with increased responsibility in highway paving and heavy civil construction including quality control, materials engineering, contract management and estimating.


“John has a great depth of knowledge and experience working in nearly every aspect of asphalt industry, which is unique,” said Levac. “With his experience and passion for the industry, he is very well prepared to lead the Council to face challenges that lie ahead and to continue the success of our endeavours in the pursuit of excellence in asphalt pavements.”

Mackay became involved with Ontario Hot Mix Producers’ Association (OHMPA) in 1998 and in 2015 he joined the OHMPA (now OAPC) board of directors. He is also the chair of the OAPC’s Hot Mix Asphalt Technical Working Group and is on the Hot Mix Paving Committee.



Print this page


Stories continue below