Rock to Road

ORBA and OAPC celebrate new chapter and outstanding service

April 4, 2017  By Ontario Road Builders’ Association

April 4, 2017 – The Ontario Asphalt Pavement Council (OAPC) a council of the Ontario Road Builders’ Association (ORBA) recognized outstanding service to the association and industry at its 43nd annual general meeting and awards luncheon at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel in Toronto on March 30th. During the luncheon the Earl Kee Volunteer of the Year, King Beamish Excellence and Joe Bunting Mentorship Awards and MTO Paver of the Year Award were presented.

This year’s annual general meeting signified a unique time for the OAPC and ORBA as the event marked the celebration of the amalgamation of the Ontario Hot Mix Producers Association (OHMPA) with ORBA.  OHMPA officially became the Ontario Asphalt Pavement Council of ORBA on January 1, 2017.

“We are delighted to come together and honour the legacy of OHMPA and recognize excellence in leadership in the asphalt industry,” said ORBA Chief Operating Officer Geoff Wilkinson. “This is also a wonderful opportunity to celebrate this new chapter as we forge ahead together as one unified and strong voice for the road building industry.”

 “The association, its members and the industry have greatly benefited from the contributions of these individuals,” said OAPC Executive Director Vince Aurilio. “OAPC’s awards program recognizes and celebrates individuals who make a positive difference in the asphalt industry, one road at a time.”


On behalf of Rankin Construction Incorporated, Peter Jesik, Rankin Plant Manager and Dave Evans, Project Manager, accepted the 2016 MTO Hot Mix Paver of Year recognition award for work completed on Hwy 3 between Port Colborne and Fort Erie.

Steve Manolis, General Manager CAE for Coco Asphalt Engineering, was named the 2016 Earl Kee Volunteer of the Year. Mr. Manolis is Chair of the Environment Committee, and worked to establish a Benzo(a)Pyrene technical standard with the Ontario Ministry of Environment and Climate Change. His contributions also played a key part in the 2015 publishing of the fifth edition of the OAPC’s Environmental Practices Guide, and the publishing of several Quality of Asphalt Pavement Task Force bulletins, including a white paper on Asphalt Cement Quality and Specifications.

Marianne O’Shaughnessy, Asphalt Terminal Manager for IKO Industries Ltd. in Hamilton was awarded the King Beamish Excellence Award for her tireless volunteer efforts through the decades and her contributions to the OAPC Marketing Committee.

R.W. Tomlinson Limited’s Bert Hendricks, Executive Vice President of the Municipal Division, was awarded the 2016 Joe Bunting Mentorship Award in recognition of his passion, dedication and commitment to the advancement of the hot mix asphalt industry and his mentorship of numerous individuals that have made a positive impact throughout the years. The Joe Bunting Mentorship Award recognizes the importance of mentorship to the community.

The Ontario Asphalt Pavement Council (OAPC) is a council of the Ontario Road Builders’ Association, and serves as the voice for hot mix asphalt producers on all subjects affecting the asphalt industry and members’ businesses. For more information please go to

Print this page


Stories continue below