Rock to Road

Surety Association of Canada announces 2019‐20 Board of Directors

December 9, 2019  By Surety Association of Canada

Back Row (left to right): Leandro Gomez; David Smith; Kevan Thompson; Tom Krech; Ron Ferrero; Brian Logan; Brent McAllister; Paul McIntyre; and Steven Hastings. Front Row ‐ Seated (left to right): Mark Skanes; Jody Maillet (note: recently resigned from the SAC Board); Raymond Llamas; Steven D. Ness; Scott Beitel; Rob Burns; Chris Sekine; and Nicolas Gagnon. Absent from photo: Robert Cristiano; Steve Hogan; Kevin Irvine; Darryll McDonald; Terry Michalakos; and Rick Shaban.

Dec. 9, 2019, Mississauga, Ont. – The Surety Association of Canada (SAC) held its 28th Annual General Meeting and Awards Gala event on September 18 in Toronto.

During the AGM portion of the event, the slate of officers was presented for approval by the SAC membership. At the first meeting of the Board of Directors for the 2019‐20 fiscal year held yesterday, the executive was officially voted in and will be as follows:

Scott Beitel, Chief Operating Officer, PLATFORM

Vice Chair
Kevan Thompson, Account Executive, Jones DesLauriers Insurance Management Inc.


Past Chair
Leandro Gomez, Vice President, Surety, Chubb Insurance Company of Canada


Rob Burns, Senior Vice President, Travelers Insurance Company of Canada
Robert Cristiano, Vice President, Everest Re Group Ltd.
Ron Ferrero, Senior Vice President ‐ Head of Surety, Partner Re
Nicolas Gagnon, Partner, Lavery, de Billy
Steven Hastings, Vice President, Surety, Liberty Mutual Canada
Steve Hogan, Ontario Surety Manager, Aon Canada
Tom Krech, Specialist
Raymond Llamas, AVP, Underwriting Director, CNA Surety
Brian Logan, Corporate Surety Director, Intact Insurance
Brent McAllister, Director, National Accounts, Zurich Canada
Darryll McDonald, Vice President, Surety, Echelon Insurance
Paul McIntyre, Vice President Surety, Euler Hermes North America Insurance Company
Terry Michalakos, Vice President, Surety, AVIVA Canada Inc.
Chris Sekine, President & CEO, Trisura Guarantee Insurance Company
Rick Shaban, Partner, Borden Ladner Gervais, LLP
Mark Skanes, Vice President & Officer, Western Surety Company
David Smith, Senior Vice President & Head of Canadian Surety, The Guarantee Company of North America

“Our industry will experience several changes and new opportunities for the association to explore in the upcoming year. I’m very much looking forward to working with this dynamic group of leaders on key priorities to continue with our mission and lobbying efforts for the betterment of the Canadian surety industry,” said Steven D. Ness, president of the Surety Association of Canada.

Print this page


Stories continue below