Rock to Road

Features Roads & Paving
ORBA honours Carol Layton

February 2, 2016  By  Andrew Snook

Carol Layton, former deputy minister for Ontario’s Ministry of Transportation shows off her new protective headgear alongside new ORBA president Allan West, past-president Blair McArthur and executive director Geoff Wilkinson.

February 2, 2016 – The Ontario Road Builders’ Association kicked off its Transportation Infrastructure Day for its annual conference by honouring Carol Layton, former Ontario Deputy Minister of Transportation who recently retired.

Layton was presented a ceremonial hardhat from ORBA in appreciation for all of her work with the Ministry and the association.

“ORBA prides itself on the 88 years that we have worked together with the Ministry of Transportation,” said Geoff Wilkinson, executive director of ORBA. “Upon her retirement, ORBA would like to thank Carol for all that she has done.”

Layton was appointed Deputy Minister of Transportation on September 1, 2010. She also worked as a deputy minister for the Ministry of Revenue, former Ministry of Public Infrastructure Renewal and the Ministry of Citizenship. Layton also held senior management positions in Cabinet Office, Management Board Secretariat, and the ministries of Health and Long-Term Care, Finance, and the Attorney General.


The presentation was part of ORBA’s inaugural awards breakfast held on Feb. 2 at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel in Toronto.

Geoffrey Stevens of Capital Paving Inc. was awarded ORBA’s Director of the Year Award at the breakfast, while Dave Read of Cruickshank received the ORBA Distinguished Service Award.

The ORBA Community Leadership Award was awarded to the late Leo McArthur (The Miller Group), who recently passed away. In honour of McArthur, ORBA chose to present his award later tonight at the awards dinner but the packed house still gave McArthur a round of applause in recognition of his philanthropic activities in his community and around the world.

Additional award recipients included ORBA Green Award recipients Miller Paving Ltd. (2015 Outstanding Achievement), R.W. Tomlinson Ltd. (2014-15 Outstanding Achievement) and Roto-Mill Inc. (2015 Honourable Mention); Cornell Construction Ltd. (Main Safety Award, Category I); Pioneer Construction Inc. (Main Safety Award, Category II); Milestone award recipients (consecutive man hours without a lost-time injury) Dragados Canada Inc. (735,364 man hours), Powell Contracting Ltd. (650,271 man hours) and Bermingham Foundation Solutions Ltd. (524,170 man hours); and ORBA Scholarship recipients Amy Ibister (Fanshawe College – Joe Bunting Scholarship), Amy Grzywnowicz (Western University – J.D. Chick Scholarship), James Thompson (St. Clair College – ORBA Civil Engineering Technology Scholarship) and Claudius Dalm (Windsor University – ORBA Civil Engineering Scholarship).

Print this page


Stories continue below