Manitoba appoints green plan advisory council

June 15, 2018
June 15, 2018 - The province of Manitoba has formed an expert advisory council to help implement the government’s Climate and Green Plan. Colleen Sklar, executive director of the Winnipeg Metropolitan Region, will chair the council.

Sustainable Development Minister Rochelle Squires said Tuesday the appointees’ expertise includes conservation, water management, recycling, biodiversity, climate change, resource development and local government.

The council will be asked to advise the minister on programs and policies that could be included in the green plan that aims to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in Manitoba, and on the carbon savings account, which is to track progress against the five-year GHG emissions reduction goals.

The council appointees are:
• Colleen Sklar, Lockport — chair
• Andrew MacSkimming, Winnipeg — vice-chair
• Dennis Anderson, Gimli
• Jim Irwin, Lake Audy
• Ian Gillies, Winnipeg
• Karla Guyn, Lockport
• Dimple Roy, Winnipeg
• Laurie Streich, Winnipeg

David McLaughlin, formerly the Pallister government’s senior advisor in the creation of its “made-in-Manitoba” green plan, will serve as technical advisor to the expert advisory council. McLaughlin is currently the director of climate change for the International Institute for Sustainable Development.

Add comment

Security code

Subscription Centre

New Subscription
Already a Subscriber
Customer Service
View Digital Magazine Renew

Most Popular

Latest Events

Quarry Tech
April 25, 2019
SC&RA free webinar
May 22, 2019
CRAC Conference 2019
June 5-8, 2019
CCA Fall Board Meeting
September 10-12, 2019

We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. To find out more, read our Privacy Policy.