Rock to Road

Manitoba appoints green plan advisory council

June 15, 2018  By MHCA

June 15, 2018 – The province of Manitoba has formed an expert advisory council to help implement the government’s Climate and Green Plan. Colleen Sklar, executive director of the Winnipeg Metropolitan Region, will chair the council.

Sustainable Development Minister Rochelle Squires said Tuesday the appointees’ expertise includes conservation, water management, recycling, biodiversity, climate change, resource development and local government.

The council will be asked to advise the minister on programs and policies that could be included in the green plan that aims to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in Manitoba, and on the carbon savings account, which is to track progress against the five-year GHG emissions reduction goals.

The council appointees are:
• Colleen Sklar, Lockport — chair
• Andrew MacSkimming, Winnipeg — vice-chair
• Dennis Anderson, Gimli
• Jim Irwin, Lake Audy
• Ian Gillies, Winnipeg
• Karla Guyn, Lockport
• Dimple Roy, Winnipeg
• Laurie Streich, Winnipeg


David McLaughlin, formerly the Pallister government’s senior advisor in the creation of its “made-in-Manitoba” green plan, will serve as technical advisor to the expert advisory council. McLaughlin is currently the director of climate change for the International Institute for Sustainable Development.

Print this page


Stories continue below