Rock to Road

News Roads & Bridges
B.C. names RFP shortlist for Steveston Interchange project

September 28, 2021  By Rock to Road Staff

The Steveston Interchange at Highway 99 in Richmond, B.C. Photo: Province of British Columbia

The province of British Columbia has revealed the shortlist of companies that may submit proposals for the design and build of the new Steveston Interchange at Highway 99 in Richmond.

The three teams invited to participate in the request for proposals (RFP) are, in alphabetical order:

Aecon|NorLand General Partnership
Aecon Constructors, a division of Aecon Construction Group Inc.; NorLand Projects Limited; Parsons Inc.; and Wood Canada Limited.

Cascade Coast Infrastructure Group
Eurovia British Columbia Inc.; Ledcor Mining Ltd.; and McElhanney Engineering Services Ltd.


Flatiron Constructors Canada Limited
Flatiron Constructors Canada Limited and Urban Systems Ltd.

Contracts have recently been awarded to M2K Construction and Lafarge Canada for new bus-on-shoulder lanes on Highway 99 south of the George Massey Tunnel, a new bus connection from Bridgeport Road to Highway 99 and cycling infrastructure improvements at Highway 17A.

These corridor improvements, including the new Steveston Interchange, are valued at $137 million. They are components of the George Massey Crossing Program and will be delivered in advance of the new eight-lane George Massey Tunnel.

Once the new tunnel is in place, travel time and reliability will be improved for traffic headed from Steveston Highway into the tunnel, further reducing congestion at the Steveston Interchange.

The new interchange will also improve access to transit stops and pedestrian and cycling connections across Highway 99.

The Steveston Interchange project is funded by the Province of B.C., and the Transportation Investment Corporation will lead the delivery of the new interchange on behalf of the Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure.

The RFP for the Steveston Interchange replacement will close in early 2022. The contract is expected to be awarded in spring 2022.

Print this page


Stories continue below